2009 Year End Goal Review

Posted: December 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

Goals are a tricky thing.  Some people love them – needing the goals to motivate themselves to do and accomplish things that otherwise would have slipped through the cracks – while some avoid them because they can get in the way of living in the moment and achieving a state of mindfulness.  Others, still, make no plans either way.

Myself, I typically fall in the latter category…making no plans either way.  Late 2008 was different for some reason.  It probably had to do with a birthdate (one which ended in 0), marking a new phase of my life and my wanting to get something out of it.  As such, I laid down some goals, the number which matched my age, and broke them into 3 categories:  (1) Spiritual, (2) Intellectual and (3) Physical.  This post has to do with some of the goals in categories 1 and 2.  Category 3 has nothing to do with this blog, though it’s worth mentioning.

Mostly, in looking over those goals, I fell way short of what I wanted to see happen.  That is partially related life changing situations, but also partly because I went a different direction.  In the end, I’m happy that things improved (personally) from a year ago.  In speaking of specifics, one goal which overlapped between my spiritual and intellectual growth was one to read a number of books in 2009.  I chose to read 12 books by the end of 2009 (1 per month) if only because I had gone a number of years without devoting myself to learning and growing.  Life gets busy.  Work gets busy.  Family gets busy.  I was content to sit down and watch the corpgov media outlets and neglected some good reading.  Twelve per month seemed like an achievable goal and one I’d enjoy doing.

As the year draws to a close, I’m happy to report that I did finish the year having read a number of books and having exceeded my goal.  Below is a list of the books I read during 2009, my “grade” (in hindsight) of the book.  I’ll save the synopsis for others, or you can find them on Amazon.com or other websites.

  1. Hiding in Plain Sight – Ken Bowers – (A)
  2. Autobiography of Parley P. Pratt – Parley P. Pratt (Audiobook) – (A)
  3. The Secret Garden – (B)
  4. The Regime – Tim LaHaye (Audiobook) – (C)
  5. The Rising – Tim LaHaye (Audiobook) – (C-)
  6. The Rapture – Tim LaHaye (Audiobook) – (D+)
  7. Patriots – John Wesley Rawles – (B+)
  8. Hidden Politics of the Crucifixion – Glenn Kimball – (B+)
  9. The Second Comforter – Conversing With the Lord through the Veil – Denver Snuffer – (A)
  10. Homopoliticus – Dana Milbank (Audiobook) – (D+)
  11. Angels & Demons – Dan Brown (Audiobook) – (B)
  12. The Enoch Letters – Neal A. Maxwell – (A-)
  13. The PeacegiverJames Ferrell (Audiobook) – (A+)
  14. Satan’s War on Free Agency – Greg Wright – (B)
  15. Following the Light of Christ into His Presence – John Pontius – (B+)
  16. Dumbing Us Down – The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Education – John Taylor Gatto – (B)
  17. The Celestine Prophecy – James Redfield – (A-)
  18. The Tenth Insight – James Redfield – (B+)
  19. The Secret of Shambhala – In Search of the Eleventh Insight – James Redfield – (B+)
  20. Come, Let Us Adore Him – Denver Snuffer – (A+)

Far and away, Come, Let Us Adore Him and The Peacegiver were my favorite books.  Not so coincidentally, both speak of the Lord Jesus Christ and his mission and some of his teachings.  Many other books were started, only to have been shelved for other projects and books.

I’m not sure what the new year (2010) will bring in terms of new books and reading material, but certainly reading and studying books has proven time and again to both enlighten the mind and expand understanding.  This is generally true, though I largely miss out on those benefits.   Odds are quite high that a couple of the above books will be found on my reading list for next year in hopes of deepening my understanding (those in bold print above).

Leave a Reply

